The Ladies of ND/SMC officers are listed with a brief description of their role and interests.  Please feel free to contact any of the members with your questions.  Simply click on Officer name and it will connect to email.

Elected Officers


Jo Ann MacKenzie

Past President and Program Chair

Ravini Fernando

Click for bio


I was born in Colombo, Sri Lanka. My husband and I lived for 25 years in Phoenix, Arizona before we moved to South Bend. We are blessed with 3 sons and a daughter. I love to paint and play the piano and cook. We also love to travel. We enjoy the love and warmth of the Notre Dame community and feel blessed to be here.


 Recording Secretary

Peg DeBoer

 Corresponding Secretary

Jackie Welsh

Click for bio


Our family moved to South Bend from Baltimore (Johns Hopkins) in 1986, when my husband assumed the Head Coaching position for Men’s and Women’s Swimming at Notre Dame.  Our sons were 2 and 5.  Now 30 years later, only the pool is the same.

Our boys are in their mid-thirties, both graduates of Notre Dame, and my husband and I are retired from Notre Dame.  I retired in 2005 from 20 year career in art museum education, working at both the South Bend Museum of Art and that Snite Museum.  I enjoy volunteering for several visual art organizations and at Perley School.  I am setting up an art studio in our new villa in Sable Ridge and planning to paint, draw, and create as much as time permits. 

Our son, Tim lives in New Orleans where he is in the English Department faculty at Loyola University.  Our other son, John, is completing his PhD in contemporary Italian literature at Harvard.  He and his wife, Alison, live in Winston Salem, NC where she teaches Spanish at Wake Forest.

 Treasurer Catherine Kossler
 Assistant Treasurer

Mary Jo Desch

Membership Chair

Pam Chipman


Kate Murphy

Click for bio


My family and I have lived in South Bend for 30 years, coming from my hometown of Milwaukee, WI where my husband taught at Marquette University for 9 years. My Domer husband, Pat, is a Professor of Marketing and currently teaches Ethics and Sustainability to both undergrads and MBA students in Mendoza College of Business Administration. We have three sons: Bob and Kerrie and our new 4 month old granddaughter, Eleanor Lila; Brendan and Aly who had our first grandson August 1 (Henry Robert); and Jim and Natalie who will be married next July 3, 2015. All 6 are Notre Dame grads!! I love to read, garden, exercise, entertain and travel, having just returned from 3 weeks in Spain, 10 days in Israel and a week in northern Minnesota.



Appointed Board and Other Positions


Fr. Thomas Blantz

(574) 631-5066

 Life Member Chair Wini Caponigri-Farquhar
Life Member Advisor Bridgid Dutile
Life Member Advisor Ruth Schmitz
Newsletter Editor Linnea Lannon
Newcomers and Visitors

Mary Fran Kitz

Newcomers and Visitors

Kim Reynolds

Newsletter Circulation Marge Marley
Volunteer Coordinator Nancy McAdams

Click for bio


Nancy McAdams

My family and I arrived at Notre Dame 22 years ago when my husband, Jim, accepted a position in the political science department.  Jim and I have two adult daughters and a delightfully active grandson. Professionally, I have had a rewarding career in education, teaching elementary school. My interests include reading, music, education, nature, handcrafts, gardening and movies. I have been a member of the LND/SMC since we arrived at Notre Dame. I have found wonderful friends through this organization and have learned much about our community through events and trips sponsored by our group. I’m looking forward to connecting with more of our members through a shared purpose of volunteerism and outreach in our community.

Children’s Playgroup Coordinator Priya Evans

Click for bio


I am an ND grad (Class of 2004). I’m this year’s co-coordinator of the LNDSMC Playgroup with Heidi Witte. I have a 16 month old toddler and a newborn. We are happy to be back in Our Lady’s University community and a part of this great program to meet other like-minded, young families.

Children’s Playgroup Coordinator Heidi Witte

Click for bio



My name is Heidi Witte, and I am a proud ND grad (Class of 2009 and 2011).  My husband Mark and 18 month old daughter Grace moved back to South Bend in 2015. We are beyond grateful to be enjoying life back at Our Lady’s University.

Website Manager
Rumana Poellabauer

Click for bio


Rumana Poellabauer

I moved to Granger about 12 years ago from Atlanta.  My husband is also from Atlanta. 

My background involves technical writing, website administration, business analysis, and technical training.